ECI Council June 2014

The ECI Council oversees the work of the Earth Charter International Secretariat. It sets major goals, policies, and strategies for ECI, and provides guidance and leadership to the broader Initiative. The ECI Council is not a legally incorporated entity. The Council elects its own members in consultation with members of the global network of Earth Charter supporters.




Council Members

  • Hua Wang (People’s Republic of China)


Former Council Members

  • Zainab Bangura, Sierra Leone
  • Rick Clugston, United States
  • Marianella Curi, Bolivia
  • Camila Argolo Godinho, Brazil
  • Wakako Hironaka, Japan
  • Barbro Holmberg, Sweden
  • Hisham Khatib, Jordan
  • Li Lailai, Peoples Republic of China
  • Song Li, Peoples Republic of China/USA
  • Alexander Likhotal, Russia
  • Ruud Lubbers (Honorary Chair 2011-2012)
  • Wanjira Maathai, Kenya
  • Elizabeth May, Canada
  • Brendan Mackey (Co-Chair 2011-2012)
  • Dumisani Nyoni, Zimbabwe
  • Razeena Omar, South Africa (Co-Chair 2006-2012)
  • Henriette Rasmussen, Greenland
  • Steven C. Rockefeller, United States (Co-Chair 2006-2010)
  • Mohamed Sahnoun, Algeria
  • Richard Zimmerman, United States
  • Mary Evelyn Tucker, United States
  • Erna Witoelar, Indonesia (Co-Chair 2006-2010)

Read the Earth Charter

We stand at a critical moment in Earth's history, a time when humanity must choose its future.
Download the Charter